Community Recognition

  • Font SizeA
  • A
  • A
The County of Barrhead would like to showcase individuals who have received recognition for their contributions to our community!  

RhPAP Rhapsody Physician Award

Rural health care providers are powerful assets in their communities. Not only do their health-care skills and practices enhance their community’s quality of life, but these professionals also contribute to rural life on a more personal level. They have special relationships with their patients and community as family, friends, neighbours, volunteers, teachers, and mentors.

For three decades, the Rural Health Professions Action Plan (RhPAP) has supported the efforts of rural Albertans to maintain an accessible and local healthcare workforce.  Long-time Barrhead physician Dr. Bernes has recently received the 2021 RhPAP Rhapsody Physician Award, which recognizes the contributions of outstanding rural physicians.  Read more about Dr. Bernes and his award here!

Emergency Preparedness Contest Winner
To heighten awareness of Emergency Preparedness Week ( May 1-7, 2022), the County of Barrhead ran a preparedness contest.  To enter the contest, participants reviewed our emergency preparedness resources and completed a short quiz to test their knowledge. 
Out of 79 total responses, Ms. Nicole Van Assen was randomly selected as contest winner.  During the May 17 Council meeting, Reeve Drozd presented Ms. Van Assen with a fully stocked emergency preparedness kit, with all the basics to sustain two individuals for 72 hours after an emergency!

The County of Barrhead thanks everyone for participating, and encourages residents to continue emergency preparedness activities throughout the year.  


Rural Beautification Award
The Agriculture Service Board recognizes County of Barrhead residents that show pride in their property by maintaining their farms, yard sites, and right-of-ways to display the beauty of our municipality.  To be eligible for an award, residents must be nominated by a member of the public, ASB, or Council.
Award Winners: 
Click on the property owners above to view their beautiful locations!